Everywhere I Look, Another Nest!

Cripes, I may have to start a “Birds” category in my sidebar. I seem to blog about them often. Frequent bird posts are something I would not have predicted when starting this online adventure. But I didn’t know I’d end up cruising for a fitness inspiration & support network either, so whatever. I thought I’d be mostly about art & I’m not. Funny, what I’m learning about myself through blogging :-)

Meanwhile, I’m still excited about this season’s nests, nests, nests! We’ve had a  turkey nest, robin & oriole nests, &  today’s discovery was a family of gray catbirds (shown above). I have been hearing a catbird “mewing” outside my bedroom window most mornings. And in the evenings, when I walk past the side of the house, same deal — catbird “mewing” from a nearby maple. The only sensible place for a nest would be in our lilac bush, so I finally looked. Bingo. Low nesters too (chest high), great for viewing & photography. But I’m too late to see their turquoise eggs, darnit. If only I’d looked a week ago!

Gray catbirds aren’t particularly good looking, but they have that fun “mew-call”, which is how they get their name. Scroll down to “calls” & click the “mew call” audio bar on this link to hear the gray catbird. No wonder I wake to their mews most mornings for the past month. Their nest is only about 6 ft. from my pillow.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Everywhere I Look, Another Nest!”

  1. mike Says:

    Great picture!

  2. mary taitt Says:

    Very cool picture!

    I love discovering nests. In B’ville, I had lots of them. Not so many here.

  3. henniemavis Says:

    Thanks :-) I have to remember to get their picture again, just before they fledge. I think they get cuter with feathers, HA!

  4. mary taitt Says:

    Oh, they do definitely get cuter, but this is an impressive, well composed fun picture.

  5. Ana Goncalves Says:

    You are lucky to have spotted these nests, they are beautiful and it’s so great to see new signs of life in nature everyday. The closest thing I have got to a nest, is seeing a family of pigeons on top of an underground people passage. And that was my first time seeing baby pigeons. :) Have a beautiful summer and keep enjoying nature’s gifts.

Leave a Reply

