Will Workout for Chips

Yes, put a nice bag of chips at the end & I would do this training course right now. My leaps would be less spectacular, however. Wow, this squirrel can really jump.

Since I started running more, I seem to want salty, crunchy food more than usual. And pretzels or nuts just aren’t doin’ it for me. I want more of these, badly ——–>

I understand sports drinks work toward salt replacement, so maybe wanting salt is normal? Unfortunately, I don’t like sports drinks. Chips are salt replacement, yes! But I can’t excuse the lard quite so easily. I ran yesterday, 3.25 mi., 33:02, not bad for me. But I’m gonna have to run a lot more if this chip-binge keeps on. I gotta get a better grip on my feedbag.

I’m not gaining weight (yet) but I can see slippage on the horizon if I don’t cut it out. Pie a la mode all last weekend. Chips twice this week. And today, I cracked myself up because I was so desperate for CRUNCH that I raided Ken’s cereal stash. The description on the box said it was honey-sweetened whole grain something with “fiber twigs.” That’s right: “Fiber Twigs.” I mean, that doesn’t even sound good. But it was crunchy, so whatever.

Best news of the week: my chafing is gonzo. I did as I was told & pre-greased the friction point (inner thigh in my case). Worked like a charm. I’m going to try for another long run this weekend. I think I am finally ready to make a serious go at Hal Higdon’s 10K training regime! “Please don’t hurt me…” <whimper>

Postscript: A silly thing I noticed about the WordPress Media Library today. When I’m waiting for a pic to upload, the progress bar displays the word “crunching” (the image file?). So when I was uploading the above photo of a bag of chips, I was highly amused. Call me simple :-)

Tags: , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Will Workout for Chips”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    LOL!

    I used to not like potato chips and that bad husband of mine taught me to like them.

    Now, since I am dieting–he counts out SEVEN of them for me, and I eat not a crumb more–seven just isn;t enough, but . . . AK!

    I go some days without any, like yesterday.

    If you work out a lot, you can lose or not gain and still eat more–when I walked the NVP trail, I ate like a horse and lost weight.

  2. mary taitt Says:

    me too!

  3. mike Says:

    I seriously want a pet squirrel now, thanks!

    Normally, I would forego the chips, except when I’m in serious training and then, probably to my wife’s dismay, I eat everything in the house.

    Enjoy the chips on your road to 10K domination!

  4. HJJC Says:

    Try a chip called POP chip, low calorie, satisfying too. Because they are healthier than say, Cape Cod chips I eat the whole bag in one sitting so I am not sure I am doing myself any favor there. Yummy chips though and I can fit a whole chip in my mouth before crunching down. Yup, I am one talented gal!

    • henniemavis Says:

      The thing is, if POP chips don’t come in Jalapeno, no sale. Yeah, crunch is primary. But spicy hot is a close second. I love picturing you shoving whole chips in your mouth… can I see a pic of that? HA! (must go Google POP chips now, to see their flavors)

  5. HJJC Says:

    Yes, spicy going in can mean spicy going out. Have fun with all that!

  6. mary taitt Says:

    I’ve now had a number of pet squirrels and I must say, they are cut–and challenging.

  7. mary taitt Says:

    I had seven chips today.

  8. heatherlorin Says:

    That squirrel has serious skills.

    Good luck with the 10K training!

  9. Virginia Says:

    OMG that is the most fantastic vid I’ve seen in a while. I love the red rocket bit. I have to pass this on to my bro who has an affinity for squirrels. No telling what the backyard is going to look like in my next visit!

Leave a Reply

