Ya Think I Overdid It?

“If you have a blister the size of Kansas, you may have overdone it.”

This actually looks worse than it hurts. Really. Just home from a glorious hike. Three of us did a “half-Wapack,” spotting cars & hiking about 12 miles, which is approx. half the length of the Wapack Trail, hence the name. The stretch we hiked goes up & over 2 mountains: Pack Monadnock (elev. 2,290 ft.) & North Pack (elev. 2,278 ft.). Knockout views!

Unfortunately, heel blisters always dog me on serious hikes. I’m good for about 6 or 7 mi. on elevation in boots. After that, well, I just power through the pain & hope for the best when I peel off my socks later. No blood this time, bonus! And my knees didn’t take on fluid from the long downhills, double-bonus!

I ran 3 mi. yesterday (33:12) & am supposed to do a longer run tomorrow, my first extended-distance run on my new 10K training plan. But I may hold off until Sunday. I may need to give my feet a day off. I’ll mull it over, after a bubble bath & early bedtime tonight :-)

Postscript: I did give my feet Saturday & Sunday off (wore open-back sandals all day, ow, ow). Monday night is Summer Sizzler race at 6:30pm. I’m planning to go for sure. I hope it’s a 4-miler this week, that’ll get me back on track. I hope my heel doesn’t reopen. I think a precautionary moleskin might be in order.

Tags: , , , , ,

12 Responses to “Ya Think I Overdid It?”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    I just got a little one on ankle–it really hurt. If that big one hurt proportionately, YIKES!

    Yikes! Ai-yi-yi! Do protect your feet for a day or two!

  2. heatherlorin Says:

    Ouch! You are one hard-core lady if you go for a long run tomorrow with a blister that size. : )

  3. SeeGirlRun Says:

    Oh yuck! That’s gross! Thanks so much for sharing. I’m about to lose my second toenail. I’ll be sure and photo it for you. LOL Woman are hardcore. Men would be wussing out.

    Laura

  4. mary taitt Says:

    LOL! See Girl Run just made my evening with her comment, too funny.

  5. mike Says:

    That is one sweet blister, nice job.

    I worked at Cropper’s which was my primary interaction with nice Twin Valley kids.

    As far as being, what did you call me? “an insensitive boob” I couldn’t agree more. Just keep at it, you’ll be staring down a 9min/mile before you know it.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Blister-schmister. Because of you, I have to change my name to Wussymavis.

      Thanks for the vote of improved-speed confidence. If a parietal thrombosis doesn’t slow you down much, well, I’ve got a good chance for 9min./mi. after all. Way to mentor others, show off :-)

  6. Andrea Says:

    Ouch!
    Nice purple toes tho.
    =)

    • henniemavis Says:

      Thanks re: toe polish :- ) The blister wasn’t bad while I was resting it… but ooo, I ran on it last night (Mon.) thinking it would be OK by now. Not so much.

  7. mary taitt Says:

    BUMMER! :-(

  8. mary taitt Says:

    hard to run fast with a sore foot!!!! :-(

Leave a Reply

