Help, I’m Stooping & I Can’t Get Up

Fabulous weekend for gardening that it was, we made great progress. Planning, planting, testing & running soaker hoses, improving soil, weeding, mulching & making silly little cutworm collars, we did it all! Ow, my tender back. But ooo, hurts so good :-)

I’m really excited about the garlic (above). My first year growing it, I planted last fall as directed… which was quite an effort since by fall, the last thing I want to do is more gardening. I am usually praying for frost, to put me out of my 24/7 harvest & preserve misery. Who the heck wants to be planting something? But I forced myself. And lo, it appears to have been worth it. No pests & looking hearty. I just reapplied some old hay mulch & am waiting for harvest. We should have enough garlic, once dried, to last us all winter & even provide seed to replant in fall.

In planning for the season, I also inventory whatever lingers in the root cellar. I won’t horrify anyone with photos of the beets, HA! (compost heap) Potatoes were still A-OK. 18 reds & 2 Yukon Golds. Sprouting, yes, but still firm & usuable, once neatened up.

Potato salad, anyone? Made some tonight & it was delish. Good way to use the fresh green onions we’re getting, too.

We’re also getting kale, chard & spinach, plus fresh herbs. The rhubarb is closing out, tho. Final strawberry-rhubarb crisp was tonight. Get your spoons, people. Last call!

Tags: , , , , ,

5 Responses to “Help, I’m Stooping & I Can’t Get Up”

  1. heatherlorin Says:

    That strawberry-rhubarb crisp looks yummy. What’s your recipe?

    • henniemavis Says:

      Mix 3/4c. sugar & 1 heaping TB. flour. Add 2c. berries, 2c. rhub, toss thoroughly. Put in buttered baking dish. Add crumbs to top (1/4c. softened butter, 1/3c. brown sug, 1/4c. flour, 1/4c. oatmeal, dash of cinnamon, sprinkle of nuts, all pre-mashed together with fork). Bake at 350 or 400 until bubbly & rhub is tender (about 3o min.). Go 400 if you like the top dark & crunchy! Enjoy :-)

      Even better with vanilla ice cream or whipped cream… run extra mile or two that day, HA!

  2. mary taitt Says:

    WOW! Congrats!

    While we were lazing around the Pinery, you were working off your hinery–I mean hiney! Good job–I’m behind on my regular gardening becasue of all the irises (and doctoring etc).

    Looks good–especially the forbidden dessert!

Leave a Reply

