Back on the Fitness Track

If I say it here, it’s as good as done, right? After not running last week, I ran 3.2 mi. Friday (34:02) & the same route again on Sunday (32:18). I’ve decided to continue recording run times, but I’m going to start focusing more on expanding my distances per my handy homemade neighborhood map & according to Hal Higdon’s 10K training plan, rather than working on speed improvement. And I’m going to make a more serious push toward cross-training on “off-run” days. Right now, I’m kinda haphazard about that.

So… since I don’t have a techno-gadget (yet) to keep my stats for me, I’m going to (gulp) record my stats the old-fashioned way: write ’em down. In one of the many “free gift” fitness journals I received from Women’s Health magazine when I went on that gift subscription binge last Christmas. No joke, if anyone wants a fitness journal, let me know. Still in the original wrapper, folks!

To prove good faith, I dug my bike out of the barn today. My very old bike. I have my work cut out for me. Besides a good cleaning & regrease, I should probably test the brakes for safety, geez. I need to switch the back tire, too. That’ll be a pain. I have to relearn how! The smooth rear rubber on there now is from my fluid-trainer, to soften the sound. But to ride outdoors, I need my knobby tread back for dirt & gravel roads, especially for traction on the hills. Remember my beautiful NH mountains? Well, riding a bike around here is a mean workout. Ouch, I’m sore already & my first ride is probably still a week out!

Tags: , , , , , ,

One Response to “Back on the Fitness Track”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    YAY fitness! It’s a lot of work, but the results are wworth it–good going!

    I walked lots at the Pinery–much harder and less fun here.

Leave a Reply

