1st Homemade Video: Gardening with Snakes

The rule of thumb in our area is to hold off planting until Memorial weekend. Hard frost is common before that. We did have 2 nights in the mid-20’s just this week. But I see lettuce volunteers coming up already. I can’t stand the wait any longer.

Potatoes, peas, onions, squash, I broke down & planted yesterday. I could get lucky. I do, some years. If not, well, I’ll be out there covering new seedlings with blankets & bath towels before a cold night. Been there before, making my life more complicated because of my own impatience.

On the digital-education homefront, I tried shooting a spontaneous “wild creature” video yesterday. I’m not particularly fond of snakes, but I’m OK with small ones. I can even pin their heads down & pick them up… but this guy was 3 ft. plus, so after I recorded his first strike, well, um… the filming ends abruptly. I think I can cross “snake handler” off my list of alternative career options. And scratch “genius videographer” too, safe to say, HA!

Tags: , , , , ,

7 Responses to “1st Homemade Video: Gardening with Snakes”

  1. heatherlorin Says:

    I’m guessing by the existence of this post that you made it out of the garden in one piece! Have you thought about taking snake charming lessons to prepare for the summer?

  2. SeeGirlRun Says:

    I despise spiders. Sneaky little buggers! Snakes aren’t so bad. I’ll even pick up small ones as well but I’d be happier if I could tell if they were bad ones or not. However, I don’t USUALLY try to piss them off and have them attack me. I hope he has a short memory when he surprises you in the garden when he has plants to hide under. “Ah! Theres that creature that poked me with a stick! Just you wait….! Heh heh heh.”

    Nice video by the way. LOVED the commentary! :-)

  3. henniemavis Says:

    Hmm… I’d like to clarify that no animals were harmed in this video. (I didn’t actually touch stick to snake when “poking”… just waved it in his face to get him fired up.)

    Wow, I’m surprised how many people commented on this, on & offline. Damn snake lovers, HA!

  4. peggy fussell Says:

    HA!! This is priceless! I love the last line… CUT!

    I was a snake lover in highschool…until that fateful day when the Zoomobile came to my school and I volunteered to hold one. Its a long story that ended in a partial disrobing in front of the WHOLE CLASS. I haven’t been a fan of snakes since.

    • henniemavis Says:

      HA! Really? Is that how you got an early start at strip-tease? I heard that about you ;-) “For a good time, call Peggy. Must bring snake.” HA!

  5. peggy fussell Says:

    ps. I think you can drop the “beginner” from your blog title now. Honest.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Thanks! I take back how I kidded with you, above :-D

      Yeah, I guess it’s time to change that. Been working on a “custom” banner, still kinda scattered ’bout what to do with it. Soon… what I may need is a good belt of tequila? NOT!

Leave a Reply

