Visiting Holly: Oregon Girls’ Vacation

I am finally posting some trip pics. It took me a while to sort, select & download. I laughed when I saw my choices. Most of our photos are simply us girls on location, where we shove our camera or cellphone in the face of some poor passerby & say “Here, please take our picture?” Uncreative, but hey, it gets the job done. The Cheeto Jesus (aka. “Cheesus”) is a rare exception, HA!


Me clowning with T at the airport. Flying is not my fav, seriously.


Our wonderful hosts! Beautiful accommodations, great food & charming company, all with a spiffy English accent, HA!




Buddhist temple at Tashi Choling Center. Breathtakingly beautiful, inside & out.


Me & Holl on Mt. Ashland. It was 75 degrees in the valley, but on the snowcapped peaks, it was 40. Brrrr, but totally worth the views!


We walked every day, I ran 2 days & we hiked also… but this is proof that we cleaned up nice for theatre or dinner. The restaurants in Ashland were fabu! And then there was make-your-own-sundae at Yogurt Hut. Did I mention I ran? HA!


The birds, plants, trees, it was all new nature out there. I’m seeing my first acorn woodpecker, while simultaneously telling Holly to bugger-off with the camera, geez! Guess she should at least get some credit for candid shots :-)


She also gets bonus credit for humoring my weirdness. At one point, we were only a few miles from the OR/CA border. I had never been to CA, so she drove me across state lines for a cup of coffee & a photo op :-)

On the art & wine tour, she waited patiently when I stopped to buy a cardboard sign from a homeless guy. And she didn’t duck out when I took photos of odd things in bookstores… like this book on “found objects” that resemble Jesus. I’m sorry, but a Cheeto Jesus merits a photo. It does!

Thanks, Holly, for a great girls’ vacation — for the play, the art & wine tour, the late night hot tubbing, sharing your fabulous hubby (aka. our House Boy & Personal Chef, tee hee), the tours & treats of Ashland. I’m glad I got to see you so happy in your new home… even though you’re far away from me now, sniffle, she says bitterly. (Kidding. Kidding!) I love you, girlfriend :-)

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Visiting Holly: Oregon Girls’ Vacation”

  1. heatherlorin Says:

    Sounds like an awesome trip! And I agree, Cheeto Jesus was definitely worth a photo.

  2. peggy fussell Says:

    It looks like you had so much fun!! I love that you drove over the CA border just to say you did it , and that Cheeto Jesus…wow.

    • henniemavis Says:

      God Bless we simple-minded :-) I am lucky to have friends that understand how easily amused I can be! Yes, it was a fun trip… but anywhere would have been fun if Holl moved there, trust me!

  3. mary taitt Says:

    Looks like you had a GREAT TIME!!!!! (I missed this somehow.)

Leave a Reply

