New Sneakers as Souvenirs

OK, so I’m a practical girl sometimes. I buy practical souvenirs. I bought a pair of new Nike runners in Oregon. Wow, do they have hills out there. They don’t call it the Rogue Valley for nothing, holy shit. I’m going to have to train harder for my next Pacific Northwest vacation, HA! Anyhoo, I love these sneaks (Vomero 5s). Soft & springy, as comfy as running in slippers only with a more secure fit. I’m usually in Brooks or New Balance, but these are nice for something new.

I’m into Week 6 of the Couch-to-5K training as a refresher. It’s easy-breezy this year, coming back quickly tho I hardly ran over winter. As soon as I get thru it, I can safely start on Hal Higdon’s 10K training program. Last year, first 5K race(s) ever. This year, I’m shooting for a 10K or two. By June 2011, a full 15K — specifically, the Black Fly in my Eye Trail Race!

So there, I made a public declaration. Those are me goals. I’m not going to worry about my run times, tho it would be nice to stay in my 10-min. mi. zone of last year. And I’ll worry about training for single-track, water hazard & elevation issues next spring.

Meanwhile, I sure miss the ideal-run conditions & snowcapped mountain views along last week’s Oregon route. Back home in NH, I’ve got spring mud & black fly season. Mm hmm, what a treat :-)

Tags: , , , , , , ,

7 Responses to “New Sneakers as Souvenirs”

  1. heatherlorin Says:

    Oh you’re brave. Cathlin and Colleen are trying to talk me into a half marathon next summer. I told them I needed to make sure I could get through the 5K first!

    • henniemavis Says:

      Spot on! Best see if you even enjoy running first :-) I didn’t at first, it was my sister who talked me into doing the running portion of a triathlon, for Pete’s sake! That’s partly how I got started training to run in the first place. But now, turns out I actually like running.

      It’s always our sisters & their crazy ideas, eh? At least you will get to go to Italy! I only got as far as North Carolina, HA!

  2. SeeGirlRun Says:

    OMG – couldn’t you have picked something easier for your first 15k? Man-eating flies, swamps? Geez!

    And for your information, the WEATHER was spitting, not raining, spitting. Not me. Although I did check tobacco for a short while in college. And if you tell my kids I’ll call you a liar! :-)

    And I would have taken a pic of the Jesus cheetos as well. Either that means you’re perfectly normal or it means that I … well, you’re perfectly normal.

    Laura

    • henniemavis Says:

      “Man-eating flies & swamps.” What can I say, it’s the New Hampshire way. HA! But you should see the views from Pinkham Notch… in the White Mountains, stunning! I’m a sucker for a great view :-)

Leave a Reply

