Marathon Mentors on the Run

A friend of ours shot this on the fly along the Boston Marathon route today. Found me a “wolf pack” of women runners, eh Jeff? Good one!

As if the lead pack of female marathoners isn’t cool enough, what excites me even more about this post is that I just learned how to use Vimeo to convert an unidentified video source (Jeff’s crappy cell phone) into something I can actually embed. I received a random video to my phone, forwarded it to my gmail, downloaded it, uploaded to Vimeo, where it auto-converted to something recognized by WordPress, read how to embed it into WP & bang… same day blog footage. I can’t decide what’s more frightening: me getting more hard core about running, or me getting the hang of some basic computer/digital technology. Yikes, on both counts!

Tags: , , , , , ,

11 Responses to “Marathon Mentors on the Run”

  1. Laura Says:

    Wow – you are more advanced than me when it comes to video junk. I can never figure out the formatting stuff!

  2. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    That was fun! I watched it twice. It would be MORE fun if it was a video of YOU running. (You weren’t in there were you? I didn’t see you, but I coudln’t see it that well.)

  3. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Are you considering ever doing it? (I didn’t think you were in it, but I just wanted to make sure). I used to think I wanted to try, but it’s too late now! Unless there is some miracle in my life.

    • henniemavis Says:

      No, not considering it… yet (HA!)… but I try very hard to “never say never.”

      And it’s not “too late now,” silly! In studying my own ability to reach for more, I’ve found the fitness blogs of folks who have overcome everything from severe asthma to morbid obesity. Some “runners” don’t even have legs, for God’s sake! I think the miracle might be drive. If you find a way to get that kind of unyielding motivation, look out. You just haven’t found your mojo yet, that’s all :-)

  4. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Well, I walk every day and occasionally jog, but it’s the fibromylagia PAIN (as well as obesity) that keeps me from doing more–and I don’t know how to stop that.

  5. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Sure enough. I’ve tried a few times to get started and always get side tracked by pain that wants me sitting. I get discouraged by pain.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Understandable. Pain is a very effective deterent & can go either way. I find it very difficult to determine when exercise will make pain get better (in the case of soreness, arthritis, etc.) or get worse (in the case of sprains or other injuries).

  6. mary taitt Says:

    I ran yesterday, about a mile and a quarter, but was feeling extra energetic–more than usual.

    Walking and light running helps my fibro in medium to small doses–lots of exercise makes me worse.

Leave a Reply

