Amorphous Bod Hopes for New T-Shirt

I mentioned previously that I’m relatively new to serious fitness. I’ve been in a weekly yoga class for 18 mos. & a strength training class for half that. Last year, I tried to learn how to run a 5K, using a Couch-To-5K training program & by God, it worked. I ran 4 races last summer, including participation in my first triathlon as a relay team runner & achieved my goal of a 10-min. mile. Miraculous!

Consequently, my body has experienced some pretty cool changes. I’m leaner, tighter, smaller. I feel healthier, stronger, prettier. I’m even getting a little bit of a “bad girl” attitude, which is kind of amusing at 40-something… but hey, better late than never, HA! Is all this enough to keep my fitness motivation going, in the midst of a crazy, busy life? I want some assurance on this.

I’ve been reading tips on momentum. Finding “real life” fitness pals would be ideal & I have done that thru Community Fitness, which is great. But who wants to drive across town regularly, just to exercise? I need help on days I’m staying home. Get a dog as a fitness pal? Vetoed by my husband (smart man). So I’m turning to the Internet. I’m scouring the web to find my own virtual “wolf pack” of women runners. It’s a slow process, but I am finding some websites helpful & inspiring, which is where Run Girl Run comes in. That’s right, I’m not too proud to try to win a t-shirt by touting her website, so sue me ;-) If you want to try for a t-shirt too, go there.

My only hang-up thus far is age. Not mine… theirs! It seems young women are the most proactive when it comes to blogging about running & fitness? I’m still sifting for some “girls” in my peer group who might be a good fit for me. Meanwhile, maybe reading the fit-blogs of younger women will help keep me younger, both physically & mentally? Hmmm… midlife identity crisis, here I come!

Tags: , , , , ,

6 Responses to “Amorphous Bod Hopes for New T-Shirt”

  1. Shannon Says:

    How many times are you going to post this? My gut just does not need this much publicity.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Well, if you’d stop identifying yourself, no one would know! Don’t worry, I’m protecting your identity by not showing your head. Besides, I’m very proud that we are team “triathletes.” Mom’s gut is particularly cute, don’t ya think?

  2. Shannon Says:

    I think you should post that picture of yourself that you keep on the side of the fridge, before your running & such.

    • henniemavis Says:

      I’m thinking about it, actually. I keep that photo because it reminds me where I’ve been & don’t care to go again. That pic of Marty prodding me w/meat fork at the BBQ grill is a good ‘un, too, HA! I’m thinking about a separate tab on this blog for fitness issues only & would post my “history” & “progress” including photos. I’ve been sifting thru the blogs of other women who have achieved amazing change in their lives using the power of accountability (by airing their goals publicly via blog) & garnering the support of comrade-readers online, as well as other sources of inspiration. Kinda cool. So perhaps I/we would help inspire others, while boosting my/our own body-issue goals?

      (Note: I hope you’ll understand why I edited one word out of your comment, as I’m not sure I’m ready to share some kinds of personal info. on a public blog just yet. But I might… I need time to see where this blog thing is going for me.)

  3. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    I used to be really into fitness, but, unfortunately, it’s gotten away from me. I do walk and exercise every day, but running is out of the question.

  4. heatherlorin Says:

    I too have been looking for a more “mature” fitness crowd online. My 40-something sisters and I just started the Couch to 5k program last week. We live far away from each other so we’re blogging about it to help each other stay on track and stay motivated. It really does help!

Leave a Reply

