Mystery Theater: Guess the Story

I love seeing wild creatures. But since they don’t often care to mix it up with us humans, I mostly see evidence of their wild lives, not the animals themselves. The things they leave behind give away part of their story, but never as much information as if you saw them directly. There’s a lot of guesswork. It’s like reading a mystery & never getting to the end!

The photo above is part of today’s story. I am holding what I picked up off the ground (more to the right of my hand, in the grass). I found lots of this under & around our firepit & Adirondack chairs. Here’s a close-up clue, below.

Do you know this story? Make a guess in the comments, or click here to get an immediate answer!

Tags: , , , ,

14 Responses to “Mystery Theater: Guess the Story”

  1. henniemavis Says:

    I want to thank those of you who left immediate guesses & comments :-)

    I will publish them very soon, but I am politely holding off for a week, until some children I know have had a chance to guess. It seems my adult readers are spoilers, HA!

  2. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    LOL! Well, you did ask for guesses. :-D

    When do the kids guess?

    • henniemavis Says:

      This is true. I’m experimenting with blogpost “quizzes” of sorts… aw, what the hay. I’ll go release all the comments now. You guys are all too fun!

  3. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Fun idea. :-D

  4. Aya Says:

    porcupine quills? OK, I’m off to check…

  5. Jim Says:

    I guess that a toothpick monster attacked a knit spindle. They were fighting over a single beer that was left by the fire pit.

  6. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    They look like porcupine quills–did you pick them out of a cat?

  7. peggy fussell Says:

    Somebody tussled w/ a porcupine… that was my guess, then I peeked to see who. Glad it wasn’t you or your honey.

  8. henniemavis Says:

    @Jim: Hmm, the only bottles left by our fire pit overnight are empty, of course :-) Good story, tho!

    @Mary & Peggy: No resident humans or cats were pin-cushioned, thankfully. I’m thinking coyote or fox. A really dumb one ;-)

  9. Shannon Says:

    Having seen a ton of them dyed and made into Native American jewelry, embellishments and crafts – YES they are quills!

  10. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Glad the kitties didn’t have quills. YAY!

    Sorry somebody did.

    Maybe it was a very HUNGRY somebody. I heard that porcupines smell really good to predators–though how anyone would now that is beyond me.

  11. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    Did you weave them into a basket or necklace?

  12. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    I’ve seen baskets and clothing with them, and own some native American jewelry with them, but have never taken the time to observe how they were made/attached etc.

Leave a Reply

