New Glasses: Trivial Posts are Good Medicine

This post is to remind me that small, happy moments add up. That on days void of epiphanies or personal milestones, I can still have joy. The joy of new glasses, for instance, which make me feel I look smarter, cuter & (gasp!) somewhat stylish. Should I mention I can see better, too? My old glasses were so badly scratched, I had lost a good deal of clarity.

Posting this photo makes me chuckle for two reasons. One, I can hear my cheeky sister now, when she gets back from vacation & sees this: “You want smart, cute & stylish? I keep telling you, do something with the hair!” What can I say, I’m earthy :-)

Two, it reminds me I am a pathetic photographer! I had to make several attempts at this. I kept getting a glare on the glasses I was trying to show, so I had to tip my chin, angle my face a bit. It’s really hard to photograph oneself. I hope you can’t see that I was about to utter an expletive if this shot failed yet again!

Tags: , , , ,

11 Responses to “New Glasses: Trivial Posts are Good Medicine”

  1. Aya Says:

    you do look cute smart and stylish! and one thing I’ve learned from working with models is that no one like looking at a photo of themselves…

  2. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    I think you look really CUTE!!! I wish I could see you in the flesh! Nice glasses, nice hairdo, nice face, nice you!

  3. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    :-D XOX

  4. henniemavis Says:

    Note to self: When feeling low, see Mary & Aya for immediate perk-up :-)

    I wasn’t even feeling low this time, but thanks for the compliments either way! I do like these glasses & the little happy-rally they give me… too bad they can’t make me a better photographer, HA!

  5. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    You must be a good photographer to take such a cute photo of yourself–all photographers throw away more than they save.

  6. Shannon Says:

    Oh my God, as the cheeky sister, you pegged me dead on. It was more of a sigh and a headshake, but you know me so well.

  7. Mary Stebbins Taitt Says:

    I like your hair–but–I’m about the farthest thing from a fashion plate there is.

Leave a Reply

