Forcing Myself to Relax

I have always been terrible at relaxing. It seems to have gotten worse with age. The older I get, the more I want to do — before I get too old, too frail or too addled to do it — which makes me rev even faster. I make my own head spin sometimes. This is not good.

So today, I took a rare time-out. In my car of all places. I have trouble taking time out at home (if I “time-out” at home, it’s called “sleeping,” HA!). I rarely sit down to veg, and if I do, I soon remember something I wanted to do, so up & off I go again. This afternoon, I had an hour between 2 appointments in town. Instead of going home & driving back later, or trying to make “productive use” of the time, I sat in my car listening to rain. I drank coffee, read fluffy magazines & ate a whole box of cookies.

It was great. I should do it more often… except for the part where I eat a whole box of cookies, HA! Totally worth it, tho. Hail, Genius, whoever decided to put lemon frosting between gingersnaps. The ginger is hot & the lemon acidic, plus there’s sugary sweetness to balance the burn. I count these cookies as “spicy food.” They have a zippy bite, if you like that sort of thing as I do.

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Forcing Myself to Relax”

  1. Jim Says:

    Those cookies sound great.

    Please, however, don’t be tempted to *drive* in the rain while eating cookies that you are photographing, as relaxing at that may be. That’s what I first thought when I saw this pic.

    I heard tell that fitness bloggers love to photograph whole boxes of…well, not cookies. But, it’s a good start!

Leave a Reply

