Feeling Less Guilty About Dinner

A naughty rooster makes a fine supper, after 8 hours on low in an herb bath. When I started the crockpot this morning, I was thinking that I experience my food in a way that is now uncommon, but used to be the norm for nearly all households (1700s or 1800s & prior). I like the way raising my own food links me to my American past.

I know today’s meal was hatched from an egg on July 6, 2009. I raised this bird on pasture & organic grain, gave it no medications or chemical treatments. It had a normal, healthy life, a “good” life by poultry standards. It was killed quickly & humanely before my very eyes, “processed” by my own hand, and chilled for only a few days before being cooked & eaten. I know a lot about my dinner. I am feeling very lucky to have food of such high quality right in my own dooryard.

Tags: , , , ,

3 Responses to “Feeling Less Guilty About Dinner”

  1. peggy fussell Says:

    yum

  2. peggy fussell Says:

    Honestly, I know it may have been hard, but so much more ethical than super market chicken that was raised in crowded awful conditions. I applaud you.

  3. mary taitt Says:

    I agree! It’s sad to have to kill them, but they are yummy and healthy!!!!!! Ya done good!

Leave a Reply

