Making Sauerkraut: Do Try This at Home

I almost titled this post “NOT a Chamber Pot.” I was sitting on the livingroom floor sorting tax receipts, when I glanced over & saw this. It reminded me that we seem weird to some people. It reminded me that weird makes my world a better place.

Being a good German American, this kind of thing is good eats. It’s a crock of fermenting cabbage, aka. sauerkraut. It’s in our livingroom, because it’s the warmest room in the house (woodstove). We need the 70-degree temp right now. In few weeks, this crock will move down to the basement (when we need 34-degree temp).

You can’t see much, as there’s a plate holding the cabbage submerged in salty water. This is a small batch. Last fall, when we were flush with cabbages, this 5-gallon crock was so full that keeping the lid down was an issue. Trust me, you wanna keep the lid down. That heavy lid prevents the smell from knocking anyone out.

When all’s said & done, homemade kraut is the best kraut there is. Really good smashed into steamy potatoes. The perfect blend of mush, crunch & tang. Totally worth the weird :-)

Tags: , , , ,

4 Responses to “Making Sauerkraut: Do Try This at Home”

  1. mary taitt Says:

    hmm, I’ll probably pass on this one.

  2. Holly Says:

    I will take Mary’s portion : )

  3. peggy fussell Says:

    Weird does make the world a better place, in my humble opinion. Now pass me some kraut and potatoes….mmmmmmmmmmmm

Leave a Reply

