Virtual Porcupine Tracking in Winter

One thing I love about my neighborhood is its wildlife. The mammals, birds, reptiles, insects, they are all here in abundance. Even when I don’t see them in person, I know them by their calls, trails, meals, homes or droppings. We have lots of porcupine neighbors. Here’s a seasonal visit…

This hemlock tree is a favorite bistro. Porcupines climb it to eat, but drop their dinner scraps.

I followed the after-dinner trail toward that rocky area up ahead.

I put my glove down so you can see the width of the trail. It’s well traveled. Someone piddles along the way… that wasn’t me, just sayin’ :-)

I’ve come to an obvious den…

Hellooooo in there? Anybody home?

Hmm, turds carpeting the entrance… porcupines are not known for tidy housekeeping. No one home. I’ll check the back door.

I was hoping to catch them coming out at dusk for a photo op.
No luck… so I’ll cheat & show a photo I took this past summer.

There they are! Now I can snowshoe back to my cozy den before dark.

Tags: , , ,

5 Responses to “Virtual Porcupine Tracking in Winter”

  1. Aya Says:

    wow! and I got excited about 4 inches of snow that got cleared away to make room for traffic.

    This is so beautiful!

  2. peggy fussell Says:

    And now I picture a woozy porcupine in the woods quoting Keats…
    “My heart aches, and a drowsy numbness pains
    My sense, as though of hemlock I had drunk… “

  3. peggy fussell Says:

    You should name him Socrates : )

  4. mary taitt Says:

    Looks like my kind of fun–I love doing just that! We haven’t really had enough snow here this year for snowshoeing and have only been out skiing once. No porkies here, either.

Leave a Reply

