Mindfulness Meditation

Yesterday, in group meditation, Pam Erdmann read a short blurb from a book called Mindfulness in Plain English. She read only these few sentences before ringing the chime to begin, but for that brief moment, she was the Universe incarnate bending my ear. I am recently having issues with my emotional responses to attachments & aversions. How the heck did Pam know? HA! That’s the fun thing about the Universe. It sneaks up on you in unexpected ways.

Pam read: “With mindfulness, we can watch how our mind responds to words & actions… watch the arising of attachments & aversions. Mindfulness gives you time. Time gives you choices. Choices, skillfully made, lead to freedom. You don’t need to be swept away by your feeling. You can respond with wisdom & kindness rather than habit & reactivity.”

Pam teaches meditation to women inmates at a correctional facility in Concord, NH. I have been thinking about asking her if I can go along sometime, to sit with them in meditation. I have never been to a correctional facility (surprising, I know). I am curious about these women, about Pam, about wisdom, kindness, emotions, reactivity. I’m mentally & physically hyperactive, curiously pursuing many things at once — which is why meditation seems like a good way to slow down, bring me into focus. Of course, a high-dose tranquilizer would work too. HA!

Tags: , , , , ,

One Response to “Mindfulness Meditation”

  1. Shannon Says:

    I am finally getting around to reading the most recent postings of your blog. As a fellow neurotic (your words: “mentally and physically hyperactive”) you can teach me about mindfulness and medication when you get a handle on them.

Leave a Reply

