Day 14: Made Up for Yesterday

Me&Matt

Had more impressive Janathon fitness than yesterday, that’s for sure. I got a really good night’s sleep, had a productive day at work, then felt motivated at the gym. Win, win, win! I needed a day like today.

I’m back on my game with Tuesday night strength-training classes, now that Wednesday-holidays are over. My gym closed early on the Tuesday nights of Christmas Eve & New Year’s Eve, which got me out of the habit. After last week & tonight, my biceps & triceps are getting used to the idea of being used again… ouch! Lunges & squats didn’t quite tire my legs, however — so I did my 1st Jantastic run of the week right after class. Meant to do Week 4 of Couch-to-5K plan (what I’m using to ease back into running without injury), but I couldn’t remember it exactly. I guessed at 5 min. warm-up walk, 3 min. run then 90 sec. walk (repeated 4x), then 5 min. cooldown walk. Once complete, I stretched on the mat & hit the shower. At home, I did a 1/4 mi. dog walk with Zoe.

My reduced-cal diet didn’t go so well. I did fine until just now. Ate a whole sleeve of rice crackers while typing this. 420 calories, damn, almost a perfect day!

Tonight’s photo is me & my brother in the late 60’s. I was 2 yrs. old. My Mom loved that snowsuit, but the hood cracks me up.┬áMay have been the last time I wore pink, too.

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “Day 14: Made Up for Yesterday”

  1. notmuchofarunner Says:

    Love the pic :-)

  2. Lupo Grigio Says:

    CUTE!!! How fun! I am toddling along, doing my daily exercises and walking. (Bad night last night though) Did read the NYT article on sleep, not sure if already asked you.

  3. paigesato Says:

    I love that your brother is in a box on the sled–were you going to push him off? Or take him somewhere and sell him?

    • henniemavis Says:

      HA! I should’ve, but it’s too late now :-) Actually, the box may have been his idea — a design improvement for stability or safety? He grew up to be an engineer!

  4. fitflo Says:

    You look like a little pink gnome – so cute!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

