Day 11: Lazy Day, Kinda

My Janathon effort today was pretty lame. It poured rain all day & I just didn’t feel like going outdoors to exercise, nor did I feel like driving to the gym. I had to improvise. I did 30 min. of strength training exercises on my yoga mat. Pushups, planks, donkey kicks, leg lifts, crunches. I also mixed in some yoga poses including Forward Bend, Pigeon, Bridge, Happy Baby, Eye of the Needle, Downward Facing Dog, Cat/Cow, Locust, Cobra & Eagle. Then I rolled my legs. That was it, but hey, it counts.

JoansList

On Day 8, I mentioned how my strength training fitness instructor, Joan, inspired me to follow her lead by declaring some self-improvement goals that are health & wellness related, to “be a better person”. She’d chosen her own & encouraged us to think of our own. I may change some of mine (I realized today that I forgot a plan for stress management… maybe I’ll add some meditation or creative-relaxation task, some art perhaps?), but for now, I’m starting with:
- Drink 48 oz. water daily
- Stretch daily
- Cardio 4x/wk minimum
- Strength training 2x/wk minimum
- Stop nail-biting!
- No flour (meaning eat whole grain, not pulverized/processed grain)
- No sugar (meaning lay off the high-cal desserts!)
- Sleep 7 hrs./night minimum

I used the little checklist-chart Joan made as my frame & taped it to the kitchen cupboard. It looks big, but it’s only 8.5 x 3 inches & has room to document the rest of this month. The typed cues are goals I kept from her list. The handwritten goals are specific to me. You can see from my dots, I’m making good progress so far :-)

Tags: , , ,

One Response to “Day 11: Lazy Day, Kinda”

  1. travellinghopefully Says:

    Oh I do love a list and a chart!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

