Day 8: Adding Stress Management to My Plan

StrengthClass

Thanks to Joan, my lovely strength training class instructor, I’m suddenly feeling motivated to make an extra effort at healthy life changes. She shared her “self-improvement” list with us & challenged us to come up with one of our own. I’ve got a lot of room for improvement. I gained a goodly amount of weight over the holidays (Thanksgiving thru New Year’s). My pants barely fit. I’ve also succumbed to a lot of stress, biting my nails down to the quick (especially disappointing to me, as I love nail polish). I just mentioned in my Day 7 post how not getting enough sleep affects me — yet I still insist on staying up late reading or watching TV online. I’m definitely in need of a daily checklist of self-improvement, so it’s in the works.

Meanwhile, I did my Janathon fitness today (which counts for Jantastic too): run-training on a treadmill at the gym. My recovery build-up continues, yay! I walked a 5 min. warm-up, then did alternating 2 min. walk/run intervals for 20 min., then walked another 5 min. as cooldown. Closed w/15 min. stretching & some ab exercises on the mat. Had planned to stay longer but I was out of gas (too close to dinner & I was starving). Oh well, good enough :-)

Note: I thought of Travelling Hopefully & Purl Gurl today. I was in a waiting room, feeling rather stressed as I fretted over some work I was doing on my laptop. Another woman came into the waiting room, sat down & took out some knitting. Whenever I glanced over at her, I could feel myself relaxing, even tho I was still working. Hm, I think I need to hire a woman to come sit in my office & just knit while I work :-)

Tags: , , , , ,

4 Responses to “Day 8: Adding Stress Management to My Plan”

  1. Sarah Passey Says:

    I’m the same when it comes to staying up late and not getting enough sleep. I made myself go to bed half an hour earlier last night and I feel a bit better this morning.

    • henniemavis Says:

      Yes, I went to bed at 10pm last night… that’s about 2 hrs. earlier than usual for me & wow, it definitely makes a difference. I didn’t sleep well (woke several times in discomfort, muscle aches & stiffness), but at least I slept more. felling lots better this morning :-)

  2. Chrisruns180 Says:

    The old saying is ‘an hour before midnight is worth 2 after’- very true :-)

  3. plustenner Says:

    Knitting is definitely the best relaxation I know :) good luck with your stress management plan xx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 76 other followers

